Got myself a job in IT!

Discussion in 'Employment & Jobs' started by Dazimus, Aug 27, 2007.

1. Dazimus

Dazimus Bit Poster

Just wanted to post that I've got myself a job in IT and would like to say thanks to everyone on this board for all of the advice, encouragement in posts I've read to keep applying and sticking with it (you'll see what I mean soon) and for the help on passing my A+ :)

Basically, being 27 years old and spending the last four years in call centre's, I'd been wanting an IT job since I left school but never got around to it due to various reasons. However, since I met my girlfriend who is very ambitious and currently undergoing her Masters at uni, she gave me a bit of a push.

I started studying for my A+, although I knew quite a lot of the material already, and booked my exams in for two months time and studied while I could. I passed my A+ first time (2003 objectives) around May and was delighted that I now finally had a shot of getting the job in IT I wanted. I knew experience was the main thing employers look for but I hoped my qualification might give me a nod when applying for entry level jobs.

I visited my local PC World and spoke to to manager asking for voluntary experience. He gave me the opportunity to work in their Tech Guys department for a few hours after work two days a week. I applied for quite a few jobs, even jobs that asked for experience but seemed pretty entry level or not far off. My reasoning was that it was worth a shot and I was only losing the time to email my CV and type a covering letter. I also uploaded my CV to loads of sites and refreshed my CV every week to keep it on the top of the search piles.

I was getting calls off agencies but they were offering me jobs on £12k a year and still in call centres (which there was no way I was staying in) but I couldn't seem to get the jobs I wanted of being a technician but not on phones. So I kept applying ... and applying.